World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

2023, Innsbruck-Stubai

June 6-10

World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

2023, Innsbruck-Stubai

June 6-10

Welcome to Innsbruck-Stubai!

Home of the 2023 World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Five days, four international associations, three host regions, two central venues, one collective goal:
The World Mountain and Trail Running Championships – in short WMTRC.

Welcome to Innsbruck-Stubai!

Home of the 2023 World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Five days, four international associations, three host regions, two central venues, one collective goal:

The World Mountain and Trail Running Championships – in short WMTRC.

The second World Mountain and Trail Running Championships will be held in Innsbruck-Stubai in Tyrol from June 6 to 10, 2023. The global title races are being hosted by the International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU), International Trail Running Association (ITRA) and World Mountain Running Association (WMRA), which in turn are being coordinated by the International World Athletics Association.

We are expecting to see around 1’400 athletes from at least 60 nations competing for the title of World Champion. The best of them come from all over the world, with the leading trailrunners hailing from the US, Spain and France – amongst other nations – and the leading mountain runners coming from Kenya, Italy and Switzerland. Both disciplines also see several strong contestants from Austria. The Championships will comprise of four single races in the Elite Category (men and women), both for mountain- and trail running, as well as two single races in the Junior Category. Team rankings will be based on the single rankings.

The contests include a Vertical and a Mountain Classic (“up and down”) as well as two trail runs, a “trail short”, covering a distance of approx. 45 km, and a “trail long”, covering approx. 85 km.

The terrain is rich in variety, challenging, iconic – and definitely worthy of a world championship. The terrain is rich in variety, challenging, iconic – and definitely worthy of a world championship. The title races will be held in some of the most scenic places in the Alps, such as the Kalkkögel – the so-called “Dolomites of North Tyrol”, at the foot of the Elfer peak – offering views of the Stubai Glacier -, and along the Nordkette, the iconic mountain range towering above Innsbruck: A sight to behold for both athletes and spectators.

German trail runner Ida-Sophie Hegemann and her Austrian counterpart Florian Grasel are excited about their potential participation in the World Championships. They both agree: “The World Championships will bring the international elite of trail- and mountain runners to Tyrol where they will be competing in some of Europe’s most stunning sceneries. We are looking forward to experiencing the electrifying atmosphere of the World Championships!”

MORE THAN JUST A WC RACE

The athletes may be at the center of attention, but even so, there will be much more on offer than “just” the title races.

In the days before the WC, any interested runners can compete in one of eight different races covering distances ranging from 7 to 108 km, or they may even be able to partake in the mass races for the Vertical or the Mountain Classic.

There will be a hop-on-hop-off service to take interested parties to different hotspots along the routes – either via “cheering bus” or cable car – where they can get up close to the athletes and cheer them on.

In addition, Innsbruck and Stubai will be hosting a varied supporting program, including an Expo showcasing a number of established running (both mountain- and trail running) brands and associations. The highlight of said program will be the City Trail in Innsbruck’s old town – a trail specifically designed for the WC and made from natural materials that will have anyone’s feet tingling with anticipation and excitement.

“We aim to organize World Championships that leave a lasting impression – that not only live up to but surpass today’s norms and values by demonstrating that it is possible to accommodate both sustainability and profitability,” says Alexander Pittl, head of the organizing committee. “We want to create an event that will redefine the standards of mountain- and trail running in the participating regions.”

THE PROGRAM

The World Championships opening ceremony will take place on Tuesday, June 6, in Innsbruck.

The Vertical will take place on Wednesday, June 7, in Stubai, with the finishing line at the Elferhütte (men and women, single and team – four world champions).

The Trail Short will take place on Thursday, June 8, leading from Innsbruck to Neustift (men and women, single and team – four world champions).

The Trail Long will take place on Friday, June 9, leading from Neustift to Innsbruck (men and women, single and team – four world champions).

Finally, the title races, incl. the Mountain Classic with a course incorporating the infamous “Höttinger Hell”, will be held on Saturday, June 10 (men and women, single and team – four world champions, Juniors (male and female), single and team – four world champions). The closing ceremony in Innsbruck is set to be the final highlight of the WMTRC 2023.

Alessio Punzi, Head of the World Athletics’ (WA) Running and Mass Participation on Innsbruck-Stubai as the hosting region for the WMTRC 2023: “The selection process was not an easy one as all four international applicants met our requirements. In the end, the unique Alpine scenery in Tyrol was the decisive factor – not only for us at the WA but also for our colleagues at the IAU, the ITRA and the WMRA. The special mix of urban space and Alpine terrain, combined with the extensive know-how regarding mountain- and trail running made for a powerful argument.”

THE HOST REGIONS

Visitors to Tyrol experience a region pervaded by the Alps, where it is easy to forget about the daily routine they left behind. The mountainous landscape is unique: It comprises more than 500 peaks with an altitude surpassing 3,000 m, more than 600 glaciers along the Alpine divide, and a vast number of alpine pastures, from very isolated to relatively easy to reach, and offering high-quality culinary delights.

Cycling WC, Climbing WC, Winter World Master Games or Innsbruck Alpine Trailrun Festival – Innsbruck has certainly earned its title as “Sportive Capital of the Alps” and demonstrates a high level of competency in hosting major sports events. The region around Innsbruck offers everything a trailrunner could wish for; there is an endless variety of trails with awe-inspiring views of the city, and leading into high-alpine terrain. Here, the freedom afforded by nature goes hand in hand with a special urban flair.

Stubai presents itself nestled between glacial ice and gentle alpine pastures. The valley is renowned for its impressive “Seven Summits” – those pervading peaks that are sure to leave a lasting impression – as well as its wild waters that are making their way down waterfalls and through canyons. The highest level of competence in all things alpine is proven again and again, not least during the Stubai Ultratrail with its motto of “city2glacier”. The name says it all: The race leads from the Olympic city of Innsbruck to the peak of the Stubai Glacier at an altitude of 3,150 m above sea level.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Innsbruck-Stubai, 2023

6.-10. Juni

World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Innsbruck-Stubai 2023

6.-10. Juni

Willkommen in Innsbruck-Stubai!

Home of the 2023 World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Fünf Tage, vier internationale Verbände, drei Host Regions, zwei zentrale Venues, ein gemeinsames Ziel:
D
ie World Mountain and Trail Running Championships, kurz WMTRC!

Willkommen in Innsbruck-Stubai!

Home of the 2023 World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Fünf Tage, vier internationale Verbände, drei Host Regions, zwei zentrale Venues, ein gemeinsames Ziel:

Die World Mountain and Trail Running Championships, kurz WMTRC!

Von 6. bis 10. Juni 2023 finden in Innsbruck-Stubai in Tirol die zweiten Weltmeisterschaften im Berglauf und Trailrunning statt. Dabei handelt es sich um globale Titelkämpfe der internationalen Verbände International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU), International Trail Running Association (ITRA) und World Mountain Running Association (WMRA), die vom Internationalen Leichtathletikverband (World Athletics) koordiniert werden.

Erwartet werden rund 1400 Sportlerinnen und Sportler aus mindestens 60 Nationen, die um die WM-Titel laufen werden. Die Besten kommen aus allen Teilen der Welt, im Trailrunning sind u. a. US-Amerikaner, Spanier und Franzosen führend, im Berglauf Kenianer, Italiener und Schweizer. Hier wie dort sind auch Aktive aus Österreich stark! Zur Austragung gelangen je vier Einzel-Rennen in der Elite-Kategorie (Männer und Frauen) sowie zwei Einzel-Rennen bei den Junioren. Platzierungen aus diesen Konkurrenzen liegen den Teamwertungen zugrunde.

Es sind dies ein Vertical sowie ein Mountain Classic („up and down“) und zwei Trailrunning Wettbewerbe, ein „Trail Short“ über rund 45 km und ein „Trail Long“ über rund 85 km.

Um Medaillen gekämpft wird auf abwechslungsreichen, anspruchsvollen und definitiv WM-würdigen Strecken – und auf ikonischen noch dazu. Die Titelkämpfe finden an einigen der schönsten Plätze in den Alpen statt, in den Kalkkögel, den so genannten „Dolomiten Nordtirols“, am Fuß des Elfer-Gipfels mit Blick auf den Stubaier Gletscher, und an der Nordkette, die über Innsbruck thront. Die phänomenale Aussicht auf die Tiroler Bergwelt haben sowohl Läufer und Läuferinnen als auch Zuschauer und Zuschauerinnen immer im Blick.

Die Deutsche Ida-Sophie Hegemann und der Österreicher Florian Grasel fiebern bereits einer möglichen WM-Teilnahme entgegen und erklären unisono: „Die Weltmeisterschaften werden die Elite der Trail- und Bergläuferinnen und -Bergläufer aus der ganzen Welt in Tirol versammeln, die hier durch einige der schönsten Landschaften Europas laufen werden. Wir freuen uns darauf, die spannungsgeladene Atmosphäre der World Championships zu erleben!“

MEHR ALS NUR WM-RENNEN

Auch wenn Sportlerinnen und Sportler selbstredend im Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit stehen, so wird bei diesen Weltmeisterschaften viel mehr geboten als lediglich die Titelkämpfe an sich.

So haben interessierte Hobbyläufer und -läuferinnen selbst die Möglichkeit, entweder in den Tagen zuvor beim Innsbruck Alpine über eine von acht Distanzen von 7 bis 108 km anzutreten bzw. zur WM-Zeit möglicherweise bei den Massenrennen des Vertical oder des Mountain Classic dabei zu sein.

So werden Interessierte die Möglichkeit haben, mit dem „hop-on-hop-off“-Service per Cheering Bus und Seilbahnen und Sesselliften mehrere Hotspots an den Strecken anzusteuern und dort den Läufern und Läuferinnen ganz nah zu sein.

So wird in Innsbruck und Stubai zehn Tage lang ein reichhaltiges Rahmenprogramm geboten, bei dem verschiedene renommierte Aussteller aus dem Berg-, Lauf- und Trail-Sektor auf der EXPO anwesend sein werden, und bei dem auch der City Trail in der Altstadt im Mittelpunkt steht – ein eigens aus natürlichen Materialien angelegter Trail, der für Gänsehautfeeling sorgen wird: sei es, wenn man selbst darüber läuft, sei es, wenn man den Besten ebendort zujubelt.

OK-Chef Alexander Pittl sagt: „Wir wollen eine Weltmeisterschaft organisieren, die ,bäng‘ macht, eine Veranstaltung, die den Normen und Werten unserer Zeit gerecht wird und die aufzeigen wird, dass es sehr wohl möglich ist, Nachhaltigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit unter einen Hut zu bringen. Es soll ein Event werden, das für die ausrichtenden Regionen und für den Berglauf- und Trailrunning-Sport insgesamt neue Maßstäbe setzt.“

DAS PROGRAMM

Eröffnet werden die Weltmeisterschaften am Dienstag, 6. Juni, mit der Eröffnungsfeier in Innsbruck.

Am Mittwoch, 7. Juni, findet der Vertical von Neustift im Stubai auf die Elferhütte statt (Männer und Frauen, Einzel und Team – vier Weltmeister:innen).

Am Donnerstag, 8. Juni, wird der Trail Short von Innsbruck nach Neustift ausgetragen (Männer und Frauen, Einzel und Team – vier Weltmeister:innen).

Am Freitag, 9. Juni, kämpfen Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen im Trail Long von Neustift nach Innsbruck um die Medaillen (Männer und Frauen, Einzel und Team – vier Weltmeister:innen).

Und am Samstag, 10. Juni, gehen die Titelkämpfe mit dem Mountain Classic, der auch die berühmt-berüchtigte „Höttinger Höll“ integriert, zu Ende (Männer und Frauen, Einzel und Team – vier Weltmeister, Junioren und Juniorinnen, Einzel und Team – vier Weltmeister:innen). Die Schlussfeier in Innsbruck wird das letzte Highlight der WMTRC 2023 sein.

Alessio Punzi, Head of Running and Mass Participation der World Athletics (WA) über die Vergabe der WMTRC 2023 an Innsbruck-Stubai: „Der Auswahlprozess war nicht leicht, da alle vier internationalen Bewerber die geforderten Voraussetzungen erfüllt haben. Schlussendlich hat uns und unsere Kollegen von der IAU, der ITRA und der WMRA jedoch die einzigartige Berglandschaft Tirols, die besondere Kombination aus Urban und Alpin sowie das große Knowhow in den Disziplinen Berglauf und Trailrunning überzeugt.“

DIE HOST REGIONS

Wer nach Tirol kommt, erlebt ein Land, das von der alpinen Bergwelt geprägt ist. Das Zuhause vergessen, dem Alltagsstress entfliehen und einfach zu sich selbst finden – das Verbinden viele Urlaubende mit dem Land im Gebirg‘ im Westen von Österreich. Seine Bergwelt ist einzigartig: Mehr als 500 Gipfel überschreiten die 3.000-Meter-Grenze, über 600 verschiedene Gletscher bedecken die hochgelegenen Berglandschaften am Alpenhauptkamm und auf den Almen locken nicht nur die Abgeschiedenheit, sondern auch hochwertige, kulinarische Erlebnisse.

Rad WM, Kletter-WM, Winter World Master Games oder das Innsbruck Alpine Trailrun Festival – Innsbruck kann sich zu Recht Sporthauptstadt der Alpen nennen. Absolute Kompetenz in der Austragung von Sportgroßveranstaltungen wird in der alpin-urbanen Tiroler Hauptstadt regelmäßig bewiesen. Auch für das Trailrunning bietet die Region Innsbruck die perfekten Voraussetzungen. Abwechslungsreiche und schier unendliche Trails, die immer wieder einen fantastischen Blick auf die Stadt erlauben, führen bis ins hochalpine Gelände – Freiheit und Naturgenuss gehen hier mit urbanen Erlebnissen Hand in Hand.

Zwischen Gletschereis und Almwiesen präsentiert sich die alpine Gletscherwelt des Tiroler Stubai. Bekannt ist das Tal für seine eindrucksvollen Seven Summits – jene Gipfel, die besonders Eindruck hinterlassen, Geschichten erzählen und schon seit jeher die Landschaft prägen – und die wilden Gewässer, die sich in Form von Bächen und Wasserfällen ihren Weg durch die Schluchten bahnen. Höchste Bergsportkompetenz wurde im Stubaital bereits im Rahmen des Stubai Ultratrail bewiesen, bei dem es – ganz im Sinne des Namens „city2glacier“ – von der Olympiastadt Innsbruck auf den 3.150 Meter hohen Stubaier Gletscher geht.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Nicht lesbar? Text ändern. captcha txt